Last Update:29-04-2016
home-icon Youtube Facebook Twitter Picassa




The Assembly Constituency of Puthupally in Kottayam district of Kerala was constituted in November 1956. It comprises of 8 Panchayats namely Akalakunnam, Ayarkunnam, Kooroppada, Manarcad, Meenadom, Pampady and  Puthuppally Panchayats in Kottayam Taluk and Vakathanam Panchayat in Changanassery Taluk.  This Constituency is located in the middle south environs of Kottayam district and it spreads over an area of 201.09 Sqkm.

The total population of this area comes around 2,12,973 out of which the male population is 1,04,968 and that of female is 1,08,005. The total number of voters as per the available statistics is 1,53,117.

There are 2,740 employees working in various Government departments including Local administration in the constituency. 5,000 people including men and women are  working abroad.

Vital Information
Educational Institutions
Higher Secondary Schools 9
High Schools 16
L.P. Schools          58
U.P. Schools 18
I.T.I 3
V.H.C. 1
D.I.E.T. 1
Technical Higher Secondary School 1
Institution of Higher Education
K.G.College, Pampady
Rajeev Gandhi Institution of Technology
I.H.R.D. Engineering College
St.GITS Engineering College
Libraries 58
Institutions of Health Care
Primary Health Centres 8
Government Ayurvedic Dispensaries 8
Government Homeo Dispensaries 9
Veterinary Centers
Dispensaries 5
Hospitals 2
Policlinic 1
I.C.D.P.  Sub centres 9
Industrial Units
Kerala State Rubber Corporation Ltd. (RUBCO)
Mini Industrial Estate
Kottayam Power Loom
Priya Darsini Spinning Mill Co-operative Society
Centres of Worship
Christian Churches 118
Temples 73
Mosques 2
Historical Importance
Birth place of the veteran Sopanam Musician Shadkala Govinda Marar
Vennimala Sree Rama Lexmana Temple
Proposed Tourism Destination
Puthuppally Church
Dakshina Mookambika Temple, Panachikkad (Saraswathi Temple)
Puthupally Election Result (Since 1965)
Year Winner (Party) RunnerUp (Party) Majority
1965 E.M. George (CPM) Thomas Ragan (INC 1835
1967 E.M. George (CPM) P.C.Cheriyan (INC) 5552
1970 Oommen Chandy (INC) E.M. George(CPM) 7288
1977 Oommen Chandy (INC) Cherian.P.C (BLD) 15910
1980 Oommen Chandy (INC-U) Panicker.MR.G. (NDP) 13659
1982 Oommen Chandy (INC-A) Thomas Rajan 15983
1987 Oommen Chandy (INC) Vasavan.V.N. (CPM) 9164
1991 Oommen Chandy (INC) Vasavan.V.N. (CPM) 13811
1996 Oommen Chandy (INC) Reji Zacharia (CPM) 10155
2001 Oommen Chandy (INC) Cherian Philip (CPM – Independent) 12575
2006 Oommen Chandy (INC) Sindhu Joy(CPM) 19863
2011 Oommen Chandy (INC) Sujasusan George(CPM) 33255
Share Link: Share Link: Facebook