Dharmadom Legislative Constituency

Dharmadom legislative constituency in Kannur district was formed by merging the erstwhile Edakkad constituency with some parts of Thalassery constituency in 2008. It consists of Anjarakandy, Chembilode, Kadambur, Muzhappilangad and Peralasseri panchayats in Kannur taluk and Dharmadom, Pinarayi and Vengad panchayats in Thalassery taluk. There are 139 polling booths in Dharmadom legislative constituency.


Five candidates contested in the first elections conducted after the formation of Dharmadom legislative constituency in 2011. K. K. Narayanan from Communist Party of India (Marxist) was the candidate from Left Democratic Front. Mambaram Divakaran – the UDF backed independent, Madhu S. Vayanan of Bahujan Samajwadi Party, C. P. Sangeetha of Bharatiya Janatha Party, Poyiloor Kunnumbrom Divakaran (Independent) were the other four candidates.

In 2011, the total number of electors was 163674 which included 73410 males and 90264 females. On an average the number of electors per polling station was 1178. About 83.31% among the total electors exercised their voting right in the 2011 elections. This accounted for about 135279 electors; 59876 males and 75403 females.


K. K. Narayanan of CPI(M) won the election, bagging about 53% of the total votes polled. He defeated the UDF backed independent candidate Mambaram Divakaran by a margin of 15612 votes (about 11.54% of the total votes polled).

K. K. NarayananCPI(M)7235453.1
Mambaram DivakaranIndependent (INC)5719242
C. P. SangeethaBJP49633.6
Kunnumbrom DivakaranIndependent8710.6
S. Madhu VayananBSP7970.6


Six candidates contested in the legislative assembly elections at Dharmadom in 2016. Pinarayi Vijayan who is a politburo member of CPI(M) was the LDF candidate. Mambaram Divakaran from INC, Tharammal Niyaz of SDPI, Mohanan Manthery of BJP, and two independents – Divakaran M. Thiruvathira, Divakaran Moottil House were the other five candidates.

By 2016 the number of male electors increased by 9958 to reach 83368 and the number of female electors increased by 8634 to reach 98898. This corresponds to an increase of 13.6% and 9.6% respectively, compared to 2011. The total number of electors has reached 182266 in 2016 which is a net increase of 11.4% from 2011. Average electors per booth rose to 1311. The number of electors who have exercised their voting rights also rose by 12.5%, elevating the polling percentage to 83.5%.


Pinarayi Vijayan of CPI(M) defeated the UDF candidate by a margin of 36905 votes (about 24.24% of total votes polled) in the 2016 elections to the legislative assembly. He secured about 57% of the total votes polled in the elections.

Pinarayi VijayanCPI(M)8732956.8
Mambaram DivakaranINC5042432.8
Mohanan MantheryBJP127638.3
Tharammal NiyazSDPI19941.3
Divakaran M. ThiruvathiraIndependent3540.2
Divakaran Moottil HouseIndependent1480.1